A small selection of recent reviews.  All reviews can be seen on the Trip Advisor Website by clicking below.

 

 

 

 

 

“Exactly how a bistro should be - excellent”

All in all excellent - fantastic tasting menu, imaginative and very fresh. Good wine list and deserts made for sharing. Staff all pleasant and attentive and knew what they were doing, all well trained and motivated. Congratulations, you have restored my faith that such restaurants exist in the UK! Wish we lived nearer so we could become regulars!

Visited August 2016

 

“Fantastic food”

Visited this restaurant for the first time with friends, and had a lovely meal. Will definitely return. We all ate off the Table D'Hote menu and all starters and mains were gorgeous. The Brie starter was amazing. Service very attentive, and the restaurant and toilets were very clean. Can easily recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2016

Birthday Celebrations

What a little jewel of a restaurant. When next in Southport make this your number one destination for a meal. Three types of menu for review, a taster menu where you can indulge in smaller portions of both the starters and main courses, an al a carte where full size portions are served and a table d'hôte (not Saturdays). We chose the taster menu as the selection was too mouthwatering to make a single selection. We were very well looked after, attentive but not intrusive. The food was exceptional, we will put this on our return list. Oh, the wine list is good as well

Visited July 2016

“Superb in every way!”

I've just moved to Southport and this restaurant was recommended to me. We had starters and main course for £16 each, desserts were around £5. The menu was varied, food was tasty, well seasoned, good portions and beautifully presented. Cotton serviettes and table cloths too!

Visited December 2015

 

“Birthday Lunch”

Visited to have lunch on my partners birthday today. We opted for the tasting menu that allows you to sample 3 starters and 2 mains. It was superb and left us very satisfied. We polished off a bottle of prosecco and a couple of beers, and were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable it was. Staff were also fantastic. Will be back soon! Would highly recommend.

Visited December 2015


 

“A Real Gem”

What can i say other than WoW. We had the taster menu and what a great choice that was. The starter and main were some of the best foods i have tasted. I would recommend this place to everyone to try. When we visit Southport again....we know where we will be eating. Cheers Andy n Linda“Still Southport's Number One”

Visited November 2015

 

“Lovely freshly cooked lunch”

Visited with a friend and chose from the 2 course lunch option. Plenty of choice, both meals extremely good, well cooked and great service. Highly recommend for a good value lunch in Southport.

Visited November 2015

 

“Excellent meal in very pleasant surroundings”

Made an early evening reservation for dinner at this restaurant and was very happy with the welcome I received when I got there. I was shown to my table and my jacket was immediately attended to. Having reviewed the menu I decided on the Smoked Haddock starter and for the main course the Teryaki Salmon. And what a meal, it was excellent. If you happen to be in Southport then a visit to this restaurant is a must.

Visited November 2015

 

“taster menu fantastic innovative idea”

Our first visit here and it definitely won't be our last. We had the taster menu which consisted of three starters and two mains each. All the dishes were tasty, perfectly seasoned and good sizes. The produce is fresh and of superb quality. What a fantastic idea having a taste of everything on one plate, you never get bored and every mouthful is delicious. The waitresses were friendly without being overbearing. I went with my mum and can't wait to return with my husband. This is just our type of place. Well done Bistro 21 just carry on as you are and see you again very soon.

Visited November 2015

 

“Business Lunch”

Booked a table at this local restaurant and ordered from the taster menu. The food was excellent, the service equally outstanding. Well worth adding on to your list if you are looking for quality dining.

Visited October 2015

 

“What I call top food”

Did the taster menu and wasn't disappointed 1 bit ! Been to some good restaurants and this was proper! Service was fantastic professional polite and attentive without being pestered! Small place defiantly recommend booking as every table was full! Honestly outstanding food I've recommended this place to all friends and family as I was so impressed ! Defiantly will return here as soon as we get a rare night off! If you want proper food and enjoy a top menu then try here ! If you want a burger and chips it's not the place for you! 
Fantastic !!!

Visited October 2015


 

“Wonderful”

Reviewed 19 December 2014

 

our first visit in the evening with close friends the friendly staff made a great impression the menus very good the standard of the food was exceptional! definitely well worth a return visit

 

“Excellent”

Reviewed 16 December 2014

 

We have eaten here four times and on each occasion the food has been superb and the service attentive. Taster menu is a great idea as well for the price. Well worth the number 1 spot on Trip advisor!

 

NON BETTER!”

Reviewed 22 November 2014

Just returned from yet another SUPERB meal at Bistro 21. I don't go there more than 2 or 3 times a year, but when I do, I have NEVER been disappointed. The staff are lovely, and the food is nothing short of sensational! Presentation, quality, variety and taste all 10 out of 10. Southport has lots of really nice eateries, but in my opinion, Bistro 21 is way ahead of the rest! Thoroughly recommend - but you do need to book your table.

 

“A great surprise”

Reviewed 18 November 2014

Told by family members how good this place is we travelled up to see them and take them for a birthday meal. 

Pleasantly busy lunchtime, attentive staff and great food selection cooked to order. Everything we had was wonderful, even the bourguignon slated by a previous review. Taster menu interesting but not pretentious..
The secret of its success is good staff, good food and amazing prices. 
I have been to pubs that charge for more for reheated rubbish.
Many thanks for a great meal

 

“Out of This World!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Reviewed 13 November 2014

Could this be the best meal I have ever had???? Maybe, just maybe.  We went for my partners birthday last week. All four of us chose the taster menu.   You will not get a table if you don't book. The restaurant is quite small, but it's not cramped. 
the staff very attentive without being "in your face".
The food was utterly wonderful. Cooked perfectly, and presented superbly. 
I (we) will be back if we can get a table........

 

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Bistro 21 is number 1

Excellent excellent food at this restaraunt great menu and service. Omg the mushroom starter was anazing and the main. The assiette for desert was special. Amazing chef and host. Highly highly recomended. Thankyou

 

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Lovely

Tucked away one street behind Lord Street is this lovely little bistro. Went for lunch, and had to book as it isn't a very big place. I had sardines on a spicy couscous for starter, then Thai curry chicken. The curry had a beautifully delicate flavour with just the right amount of heat, the sardines were fresh and delicious. The place is very nicely appointed with REAL napkins! Staff were very nice and service was great. A good price too, especially for lunch. Would go again on next visit.

 

Reviewed 27 August 2014

“What a find!”

I had lunch here with a friend today for the first time and can honestly say that it was one of the most pleasant culinary experiences I can remember in Southport. Considering its less than salubrious location, one would not expect to step over the threshold into such an oasis of refinement.The crisp white table linen, the warm welcome and profession service complemented the excellent menu and truly delicious meal - at a very reasonable set price of £8.95 for two courses. I expect to be a regular customer in future!

 

Reviewed 25 August 2014

“Birthday Celebration to remember”

A special birthday and 24 diners. I chose Bistro 21. Wonderful night, excellent food, prompt and efficient service. Well done BIstro 21 and thank you

 

Reviewed 24 August 2014

“Fantastic!”

Heard many raving reviews about this restaurant so decided to give it a try! Managed to get a table early Saturday evening as they were fully booked later on in the evening which suited us fine and gave us a good impression! Had the taster menu, prawn chorizo risotto was unbelievable, good portion sizes! For main course I had lamb and wood pigeon, the pigeon was cooked absolutely perfect, lamb which is slow braised was so tender and melt in your mouth. My partner had the fish gratin and fillet steak which she said the gratin was packed full of flavour. Service was great, the waiter couldnt do enough for you but not in a irritating way. Very professional! Had a sticky toffee pudding to share one of the best ive ever had! ambience was rather quiet as only a few tables in but can imagine a good atmosphere when full.  Great price compared to other local restaurants! Cant wait to return!!!

 

Reviewed 24th February 2014

Wonderful Every Time

The food here is never short of excellent every time I visit. It has a lovely,cosy atmosphere and the service is superb. There are so many delicious choices on the menu,that I am always torn deciding what to eat. I last visited two weeks ago and had the Tasting Menu...3 starters and 2 main courses, always fantastic. There are also Table d'hote and A La Carte menus.Whatever I choose, the standard is always first class. I am lucky enough to live locally to this restaurant, but if I didnt ,then I would I would make the journey every time. It's well worth it.

 

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Southport's little Gem

Will definitely return to this little gem .... Highly recommend the taster menu The service, the presentation, the food tastes were all 5 star During my career I travelled across Europe, Middle East and Far East staying in 5 star hotels, the food at Bistro 21 equals if not betters anything I tasted on my travels.

 

Reviewed 12 January 2014

JUST SUPERB!

Bistro 21 is a first class restaurant. We arrived and felt immediately welcomed. The service was very good and staff were obviously well trained. We chose the tasting menu and were not disappointed as the food was superb. Well presented and was truest a "picture on a plate". We will be returning next time we are in Southport. A true gem.

 

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Can't wait to visit again

Have just come home from Dinner with friends at Bistro21 and felt compelled to give a very favourable review. The food was excellent - even the vegetarian member of our party was impressed by the quality and variety of the dishes offered. Will definitely return there very soon.

 

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Photogenic Food

So reliable and so good. One of the only restaurants where you want to take a photo of your food before you eat it; Tastes as good as it looks though! Add in great surroundings and excellent service and what else can you ask for?

 

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Bistro Brilliance!

Having just had one of the greatest dining experiences in my life ( yes,really ) I feel compelled to tell you how amazing this restaurant is.
From entering the restaurant, coats were taken and drinks were offered very quickly but in fashion where you didn't feel rushed. Staff very attentive and service with a smile.
For starter I had haddock croquettes and they were amazing with a nice rich sauce that complimented the dish perfectly.
For my main I had the belly pork which was truly fantastic, didn't know it was possible to make belly pork that tasty that sat on a delicious sweet potato purée. Again like the starter the dish was served like a piece of art rather than a normal meal
For dessert I had the assiette which like both previous courses was phenomenal. I chose it because of the sticky toffee pudding and it also included the miniature Eton mess.
The dessert also included pear drop ice cream which was very refreshing and also orange pannacotta which again I had never had before but thoroughly enjoyed.
I would definitely return to this restaurant as it honestly is one if the tastiest meals I have ever had and would highly recommend it for a special occasion. (We were treated to our lovely meal by our close friends for a birthday )
Many thanks

 

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Perfect Food and Service

We had the Christmas tasting menu, picking three starters and two mains. The food was presented great and very tasty, especially the Duo of Lamb which I would highly recommend. The staff were also friendly and professional. We will definitely be returning!

 

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Wonderful Experience

My husband is the worst person in the world for being fussy. Bistro 21 accommodated his taste by adjusting the menu and offering alternatives. He was over the moon.
I had the taster menu and couldn't be more pleased the three starters and 2 mains were excellent and I've never seen food so well presented. I didn't want to eat it at first but when I did WOW the flavours and textures were awesome. LOVED THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE.

 

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Delicious food and wonderful ambiance

I live overseas, but made my gran a birthday reservation at Bistro21 based on the strength of the reviews I read here on tripadvisor. I just got off the phone with my gran, who called me to tell me what an absolutely wonderful lunch she had; in fact, it was so good that she and her friend are planning on returning again early next month! She was thrilled with the service, the food quality and presentation, and the beautiful ambiance. I just wanted to voice my appreciation to the staff and management for making her birthday such a memorable one.
 

We have been included as a "Local Gem" in the 2015 edition of The Good Food Guide.

 Described as "a perfect neighbourhood eatery that we all wish we had on our doorstep."

 

Restaurant inclusion is based entirely on reader's recommendations and anonymous expert inspection.  You can neither apply to be in the guide, nor pay for inclusion.  A commendable achievement for all our staff.  Well done!

 

We have also won a Certificate of Excellence for 2015 & 2014 from Trip Advisor and won the Southport Restaurant of the year in 2013

We were awarded

Southport Ambassador Restaurant of the Year in 2013